The Saturday Sermon – Perth Summer Hurdle Tips – Ripon Great St Wilfred and Newbury for the Hungerford Stakes

Good evening from the Major who writes from a damp warm Worcestershire where the air is heavy and warm filling the nostrils with an unpleasantness, heavy splats of rain and a dirty light.

If Strong Suit returns to form, it is game over in the Hungerford

The Major is writing this evening as I have commitments in the morning and so I thought I would get my Ripon, Newbury and Perth tips up tonight.Last weekend the Major returned to form with a short post that contained two tips and two winners… kabooooom!  They returned 11/2 and 2/1 on the SP but were at 7/1 and 9/2 when advised – Either way it paid for a good dinner.Let us hope that this signals that I am back on the hotlist.  Today I am offering you a nice trixie taking in three of the day’s feature races.  Although Chester have a good card I have gone for the Great St Wilfrid handicap at Ripon, the Summer Hurdle at Perth and the Hungerford at Newbury.

The plans I have in the morning are running ones, 15 miles to be specific.  I am preparing myself for the Berlin marathon which I am running for the magnificent Whizz Kidz charity.  Should you have a couple of quid to spare for a fantastic children’s cause then please visit my justgiving page.  We have called the project 26 miles and 26 pints and with 6 weeks to go, I can declare that I am match fit for one of those legs!

Tomorrow I am at the Hawthorns after my morning run – I am taking my two young sons for the visit of Liverpool.  Thank you to Mr Hill for the use of his tickets while he is in Turkey.  I shall get the man a betting slip as a Thank You.

To the sports…..

3.05 Newbury – Tips for the Hungerford Stakes

Strong Suit has surely got the measure of these on his best form which appears to be the problem as we have not seen that for some time.  2/1 would be a fine price if you had the certainty of Strong Suit putting his best foot forward.  Newbury is a fair track and Strong Suit does have an excuse for his latest flop as the ground was heavy – Hannon has won the race a couple of times in the last twelve years most recently with Paco Boy….. of significant interest and enough to earn the selection – Strong Suit.

Alanza and Red Jazz are the threats to the Majors tip

3.30 Ripon – Great Wilfrid Handicap Tips

This looks a top class renewal of the race with some very well rated horses turning up.  Our Jonathan is top rated on 108 but there are a further five horses rated 100 or above keeping him company at the heavier end of the card.

In truth this is a wide open handicap and it is hard to completely rule many out.

Our Jonathan looked in fine fettle when last out and it is hard not to see him running a good race – He finished second in this last year off 6lbs lighter and one for the shortlist.

Alben Star is at the head of the market after an eye-catching late run in the Stewards Cup.

David Barron has gone mob handed with four entries Colonel Mak looks my favourite of his representatives but Bertiewhistle also has some appeal.

A quick mention for 25/1 shot Tax Free who at the age of ten is still in with a shout.  It is only the uber high draw which puts me off.

On balance, 8/1 Alben Star should give us a terrific run with an excellent chance of winning.

4.15 Perth Tips – Summer Handicap

The Summer handicap is a limited handicap race and this year looks like a nice number.  Trainers from far and wide have sent representation.

Cause of Causes is likely to be a very hot ticket after his Galway Hurdle second.  He is 5/2 favourite – Cause of Causes can run prominent and can be held up – With Timmy Murphy in the saddle, I wonder if we will see him held up to come off the pace.

Kians Delight is another very progressive sort.  Since I like that form line, Absinthe also is in calculations.

One of the Pipe runners, His Excellency, looks of good interest having only just been acquired by the yard.  Yet, I am little off put by the yard going for a 10lb claimer in the saddle, a rider who has not got off the mark in thirteen rides for the yard.

The Major is going to tip Kians Delight for the summer hurdle – This horse ran superbly from out of the handicap to finish second in a similar race at Market Rasen and at 5/1, I am taking the chance that he can get his head in front today – Hugely progressive.

On the opening day of the football season, I am going to throw one team in to allow for a lucky 15.

I am always keen at this stage to go against the promoted squads if they have little premier league experience.  As such, I am sure Stoke rate better than 44/19 shots (Pinnacle whoever they are!).

May tomorrows dinner be something fine, a Scotch Beef Fillet perhaps; a fine wine to accompany and good company.

We drift by just the once, enjoy what comes your way on the tide.

Courage, roll those dice.

Leave a Reply

