Racing Tips on the Tuesday Ffos Las Card….

Good evening from the Major who writes with a flash post to try to recoup some face after what I shall describe as ‘Black Sunday’.

I hope for your own sake you were not inclined to visit on Sunday.  If you did, I pray you either left immediately or felt disinterested in the advice I offered.  If sadly, this was not the case then your finances may be substantially less fluid and for this I can only apologise.

After a period of sustained profits, the Major managed to get his tips at 8/11 and 1/4 beaten and did not manage a winner from the other two picks either.

I never promised you much but come on, this is low stuff.

I am determined to get some Cheltenham posts up soon.  I am also determined to do some volunteering, sort out my tax return, organise some marathon training and numerous other things too so do not hold your breath.

When I do, I will kindly ask for a few of the fabulous photographs that Emma-Louise Kerwin takes.  You can follow her fantastic work on twitter @EmmaKGts or on her blog, Good to Soft or on Facebook.   I am plugging her work partly to garner favour and persuade her to give me some shots!  It is not all shallow though, when I say it is good, go and see for yourselves… The up close and personal stuff at the fences and of the tack on horses in the parade ring, the sweat, the heaving, the awkward jumps, the ones that ping the fences, the stars, the ever presents and the triers…..  she captures my beloved sport through that lens like the BFG capturing dreams in a jar…

To Ffos Las and to restore order.  Let’s hope it is on….

In the opener, Theatre Evening is my idea of the winner having cost the best part of two hundred thou’ at the sales.  Incredibly that price was achieved after a fall when pointing!  To be fair it was a good race and he had it in the bag!  McCoy could have been on Bob Ford the second favourite so that must be an advert in itself.  Being a Kings Theatre horse, the ground is no concern and hopefully, this won’t be another favourite the Major gets turned over.

Another favourite worth backing goes in the second in the form of Shaking Hands – This Pipe inmate won showing great attitude at Towcester on similar ground beating Cadran Du Chac who the Major put up (successfully I add!) for the Yorkshire National.

The 2.10 is a three runner affair and I opt for the outsider of the three in One in a Milan.  His Irish form was better than his run at Taunton would have you believe and second time out might be the time to catch him.

The 2.45 is a trappy handicap.  Storm Alert has to contend with a 10lb higher mark than his last time win but his claimer reduces some of that burden.  The Jonjo horse (with AP up and a yard that has a good record here) Dream Again Boys was supported last time out and is surely better than his last two runs suggest can only be watched (although money would tempt me to follow in).

The tip in the 2.45 is Annaluna at 5/1 who has been running well over the smaller obstacles to suggest that this is well within ability.  The yard is in great touch and the booking of Jamie Moore is interesting (never before used) – The step up in trip will be a positive, partly to give the horse a pace that will give plenty of sight of the fences…

Without doubt Lucky Prince at 4/1 is my idea of the bet in the 3.15.  Likes the ground, proven on the course… easy.

The 3.50 is wide open as the market (6 runners 10/3 the field) suggests.  Forever My Friend is going to be backed as many will think it was the distance that found the horse out over Christmas, I am not sure the horse goes in soft conditions so the same concerns apply.  Michigan D’isop can go well from a break, has Schofield up (one from one for the yard) and although tricky is worth a pop at 4/1.

With the weather forecast, they will be running the 4.20 in the dark.  I’m not sure we have seen much great form from those with runs so I will tip Land of Vic, currently trading at about 6/1 for the Bowen / Moore team.

Courage, roll those dice.

Leave a Reply

