The Saturday Sermon on July Cup Day 2013

Good Evening from the Major who is writing from Birmingham and the home of the in-laws.  The evening has darkened, I am sat at the rear of the house with the glass doors flung open and the cooling air flooding in and washing over me gloriously.

The Major did not fare much better on the second day of Newmarket.  Elusive Kate held on.  More typical of my tipping form is that in the opener I talked myself off the winner and onto the third placed horse.

I don’t mind a few losers though, it makes winning all the sweeter… Bear with me my friends, the mothership cometh soon.

I am too tired to deliver a significant Saturday sermon, I am sure many of you skip it and go straight to the tips anyway.  What is the point of that?  If you are here seeking immediate profits from a knowledgeable tipster, you are in the wrong place.  If I were able to make lots of money from my hobby, I would not be sharing the riches of my mind.  That’s probably a lie, my crippling desire to be liked always overwhelms any reluctance to deploy generosity.

To the sports.

Newmarket – July Cup Day

I have such fond memories of Hayley Turner galvanizing Dream Ahead to win the July Cup, weaving her way through at pace…. Her first Group One, that would take some beating!

Before we get to the feature, we have some other contests to cut our teeth on.

Defendant is of interest in the opener for Ryan Moore – The horse won a Beverley maiden and although has not excelled since, has run with credit against older more experienced horses.  I am more persuaded by the Queens horse Princes Trust at 4/1.  My selection won nicely last time out and looks on a mark that leaves plenty for improvement.  With the Hannon yard in fine fettle, what is not to like?

Hannon also has a good record in the second race, the Superlative Stakes with his recent winners being King Torus and Olympic Glory.  His representative Washaar needs serious respect, retained jockey Dane O Neill means usual rider Hughes is on Chapple Hyam’s horse, Noble Metal.  Not without a chance in the Majors view.  The one I am putting up though is Somewhat at 6/1.  He has been setting himself up a bit by leading out in his races but must be respected and Murtagh is still a top class rider.

You could beat yourself up trying to find the solution in the 3.15 Bunbury Cup.  The Major liked Emilio Largo, Bertiewhittle and I’m so Glad, all for different reasons but the dart landed on Redvers at 14/1.

In the big race, I have a strong strong fancy.  While I love Society Rock and would not begrudge him the win, I think he is up against it.  Shea Shea was my idea of a good thing at Ascot but am less convinced now.  The horse that blew me away though was Lethal Force, 9/2.  The Clive Cox runner did it the hard way at Ascot but more improvement is still available and I am a fan.

Emirates Flyer looks the best bet for the 4.25 but I am keeping it calm at the prices.

The 5pm came down to a call between Dutch Courage and Al Baz.  I went with the latter at 3/1 because I think Neil Callan is a pus and while the last race form was at Redcar, it was pretty powerful.

In the lucky last, I am sticking with Cousin Khee.  He is more experienced than most but his Plate form showed that he is a very capable sort and 11/1 is big.

May your dinner be generous and in good company  Courage and roll those dice.

The Martin Hill lucky 15 is Emirates Flyer, Al Baz, Somewhat and Princes Trust

Leave a Reply

