The Wednesday Galway and Goodwood Festival Tips…. Short post, out of form… Pray for the Major

Good evening from the Major who writes from a slightly cooler Worcestershire with a pleasant grey and purple sky hangs serenely.

The Major has had a disaster.  At Galway I could not find an angle.  At Goodwood, I was hopeless.  Can I offer you hope that I can resolve these calculation errors?  Well, not exactly.  I shall factor in the Johnson factor more, that felt obvious for Goodwood.

Is it me or does everything cost so much money these days?  The Major has a retaining wall that is failing in the grounds.  It is timber and was clearly never tanalised that well.  It was in place before we bought the place and looked pretty new – It extends for forty odd metres holding back the land of our garden which falls towards our house.  Now, with water eating away at the timber, some of the holding stanchions have faltered and a good downfall of rain might see the land slip.  Cost: A fortune.

The good lady put her car in for a service.  £300.  The dentist (£110 himself) advised me to buy a new toothbrush £60.  The good lady has designs on a whole plethora of activities for her fortieth birthday.  A family meal £500, a New York trip £1,000.

This is not the time to hit the cold streak.  Alas, back to the well and focus.

Galway and Goodwood Tips.

The duel on the downs is not a betting race but Kingman wins.  He was so good in Ireland and is showing that he was a tad unlucky to be racing on the wrong side of the heath for the English Guineas.  I think he will show his talent and then be aimed at Champions Day.

In the 3.40pm I am opting for Tupi Hughsie agrees with me which could be significant as he could have been on Dr No who put up a good show in the Coventry.  That race I suspect is going to turn out as a much better piece of form than a traditional Coventry (I am looking forward very much to seeing the Wow Factor again).  So you see my logic… 6/1 in spots.

The expensive Shahah to repay some of that price tag in the maiden.

At Galway….. the big one is the Plate at 5.30pm.  Now I have a big big soft spot for the Galway Plate runner Alderwood – That he has not been seen since is unfortunate because while it might have protected a mark and even accepting his yards ability, it is hard to substitute race fitness in these sorts of contests.  Plus, the typical profile is less exposed.

Which leads me to….. Burn and Turn – Right profile, Robbie Power for Harrington, good form, improver, 14/1 what is not to like?

That is all I am giving you for Wednesday – I am hoping for a couple of winners and some sort of positive balance in my account.  As things stand, dinner is toast.

Courage, roll the dice.

3 responses to “The Wednesday Galway and Goodwood Festival Tips…. Short post, out of form… Pray for the Major

  1. Nice post on The Majors UK Horse racing and sports analysis .

  2. Well done today Sir, that’s a few shillings more for the Corporals mess!

Leave a Reply

